More on Python IDEs

Due to some comments in my last post about Python IDEs I gave a chance to Komodo. I’m mainly focus on software libre IDEs so I didn’t take a look into that one. Komodo Edit is free as in free speech (I thought it was like in free beer) and it’s a promising editor. I may give it a chance if Eric4 (read ahead) don’t make me comfortable.

The last Netbeans update enhanced the python code completion feature making it much more usable but no perfect at this time. When accessing an object method sometimes methods that don’t exist in the current object, but at this time they are dozens instead of hundreds. I would like to have time to download and compile Netbeans in order to get involved in the community, but last weeks were really stressing.

On the other hand, I tried again Eric4, which is written using Python language. As I’m not a java expert it’s a disadvantage for me be forced to use this language to develop. Therefore Eric4 seems to be the perfect IDE for me. I’ll try it in a real project as soon as possible.

Eric4 has templates for Django which is the framework I’m currently using to develop. The last template seems to be quite close to the approach I like.

Under my humble opinion Python (and Django) is becoming more a more popular and IDEs for it are becoming more and more usable.

5 Responses to More on Python IDEs

  1. Ruyk says:

    Nice post. Perhaps I’ll give a chance to Eric4.
    I gave a chance to Anjuta, but it really disappointed me. Although it has got a django project wizard, you cannot do any of the special actions for django projects (like, for example, adding a new applications to a project or launching a firefox window). I’m thinking of writing a post about GVIM + plugins for django development, because, at least for the moment, it’s the best “IDE” that I’ve found.

  2. Eric4 has a Django Project plugin that enhance the IDE adding some Django commands. The code completion seems to works properly even at the templates!!!

    I have not try to debug a Django project but this is not a required feature for me at this time.

    I miss the netbeans feature allowing to maximize the editor to the window, and it would be really cool be able to use ipython instead of python as interactive console but, at this time, it’s the best I have seen for Django.

  3. Tor Norbye says:

    NetBeans tries to resolve types and only show relevant matches. But if it cannot figure out the type of a variable (such as a parameter) it will fall back to matching -all- globally known functions/methods.

    In 7.0 we have type assertions integrated with code completion to help this scenario; see

    http://blogs.sun.com/tor/entry/netbeans_screenshot_of_the_week8

    for more.

  4. How about Eclipse + PyDev?

  5. When I wrote this, PyDev autocompletion was quite buggy. I have try it again and seems much more stable. However I start using Eric4 some days ago. The Django support of Eric is great although I don’t feel as comfortable with the way IDE organize files as in Eclipse or Netbeans. I’m giving a chance it.

Leave a Reply

